End-Times Fiction: Be Prepared for the Ride of Your Life!

ArynChristian Fiction, Faith2 Comments

End Times Fiction (A Bible laying in front of a purple sea that's parted

End-times fiction is known for its fast-paced drama and is normally packed with geo-political intrigue. It can’t be easy to write, and it’s one of the most challenging to read, in my opinion.

There are many who’ve tried, and succeeded, in making the end times come alive in the same way solid Biblical fiction authors can bring the past to life.

It’s a precarious undertaking, to do justice to such a complex portion of the Bible, and the current landscape of the global drama.

I’d like to introduce you to a distinct success. Terry Brennan’s Ishmael Covenant is the beginning of a powerful trilogy, on tour with Read with Audra.

Please note that this post contains affiliate links for your convenience. If you make a purchase through one of the links, I may make a small commission. I only recommend books and resources that I’ve enjoyed personally, or believe that you would like. You can read my full disclosure here. You will also find information on Scripture translations there.

Ishmael Covenant, Empires of Armageddon book 1, an End-times novel you don't want to miss

End-Times Fiction: The Ishmael Covenant:

His marriage in tatters and his career ruined by lies, Diplomatic Security Service agent Brian Mullaney is at the end of his rope. Banished to Israel as punishment by his agency, he’s assigned to guard a US ambassador and an insignificant box. Little does he know that this new job will propel him straight into a crisis of global proportions.

Inside the box is a messianic prophecy about the fate of the world. And a dark enemy known as The Turk and the forces of evil at his command are determined to destroy the box, the prophecy, and the Middle East as we know it. When Ambassador Cleveland gets in the way, his life and his daughter’s life are threatened–and Mullaney must act fast.

Now agents of three ancient empires have launched covert operations to secure nuclear weapons, in direct defiance of the startling peace treaty Israel and its Arab neighbors have signed.

And a traitor in the US State Department is leaking critical information to a foreign power. It’s up to Mullaney–still struggling with his own broken future–to protect the embassy staff, thwart the clandestine conspiracies, and unmask a traitor–before the desert is turned into a radioactive wasteland.

Fans of Joel C. Rosenberg, Steven James, and Ted Dekker will relish the deadly whirlpool of international intrigue and end-times prophecy in Ishmael Covenant–and will eagerly await the rest of this new trilogy.

Read an excerpt from Kregel by clicking here!

What Did I Think of This End-Times Novel?

Well, let’s just say I’m excited. The pace is perfect for this type of suspense drama. The action is intense, but spaced well between investigations and intrigue. There are a lot of people to keep track of, but there’s a ‘who’s who’ guide at the front to make it easy to double-check if you get confused.

I’ve made several real-world connections into some of the tensions in the Middle-East. Things I probably should already know, and on one level, I did. But it was phrased well and pulled together into one spot, and it clicked for me.

Brian Mullaney is both fun, strong, and going through some really tough stuff. Definitely someone I’d want on my side, and someone I’ve caught myself praying for once or twice the last couple of days. Please tell me I’m not the only one who forgets fictional characters aren’t really real sometimes!!!

Some scenes border on info-dumping, but 2 things make this ok: He’s setting up a trilogy, and it’s amazingly important/helpful information.

If you enjoy well researched end-times fiction, suspense, action, and travel to interesting destinations, I would highly recommend reading The Ishmael Covenant.

Q/A with Terry Brennan

Here’s an excerpt of a recent Q/A with End-times fiction author Terry Brennan:

Q: Is there a scriptural or spiritual theme that inspired the writing of Ishmael Covenant?

My Bible is an NIV Study Bible with extensive explanatory notes on almost every page. One of the longest notes and—for me—one of the most impactful refers to Ephesians 1:3 where Paul writes about “heavenly realms.” In part, the note explains that Christians are in a real, tangible war, what it calls a “titanic conflict”:

“In the Christian’s union with the exalted Christ, ultimate issues are involved. . . . At stake are God’s eternal eschatological purpose and the titanic conflict between God and the powerful spiritual forces arrayed against him. . . . As a result, the spiritual struggles of the saints here and now are not so much against ‘flesh and blood’ as against the great spiritual forces that war against God in heaven.”

I was struck by the idea that there are great spiritual forces that war against God in heaven. More sobering is the idea that my spiritual struggles here on earth have, in some way, an impact on that war in heaven. Not all of us will come face-to-face with evil incarnate, as Brian Mullaney and the other characters of Ishmael Covenant do. However, agents of evil are at work in the world today, just as they have been since Lucifer’s rebellion was crushed and banished to earth. 

Q: How did your studies while writing the book change your thoughts on the spiritual warfare we face in daily life as Christians?

I don’t generally live my daily life conscious of the part I play in this great spiritual battle in heaven. I most often perceive the evil I face as personal. So, my wife and I pray against the spirits of evil that try to steal, rob, and destroy in our lives, in our family, and in our marriage, which is good to do.

Through digging deeper into the concept of spiritual warfare for this book, I’ve learned that I need to reach beyond the personal conflict of good and evil in my life and be more conscious of the vastness of this titanic conflict around me. I need to be an example, a reflection, of Jesus and his love for all souls. And I need to stand up for light—to be a warrior-ambassador for light—in a dark world that often seems to be getting darker. 

But the bottom line is inevitable. Good triumphs. The end of the Book will never change.

Win a copy of Terry Brennan's Ishmael Covenant. Click Here

Q: Empires of Armageddon is categorized as “end-times fiction.” How would you describe the genre and what encouragement would you give a reader who isn’t sure about prophetic or end-times fiction to get them to read this new series?

As Christians, one of our foundational beliefs is that Jesus Christ will return. Many believe his second coming will usher in the final countdown to the end of time as we know it. There are many parts of the Bible that prophesy about the second coming.

Many scholars believe the creation of the nation of Israel in 1948 started the “end-times clock” ticking. So, most likely we are in, or on the cusp of, the end of days. The end really is near—whatever “near” means in God’s timing. I believe any novel that weaves into its plotline elements relating to how or when Christ will return, or its impact, qualifies as end-times fiction.

It’s important to remember that end-times fiction is not the book of Revelation. It’s not theologically deep or hard to understand.

Ishmael Covenant can be characterized as an end-times thriller because there is a strong thread connecting the plot of the book, and the series, to last-days events such as how the quest of the protagonist may ultimately affect biblical prophecies. But primarily it is simply a story of the conflict between good and evil, and how that conflict plays out in the life of an ordinary guy. 

At its core is an everyman protagonist—a Christian man, accomplished and successful in his career, who is enlisted in a life-threatening situation beyond his sphere of experience and understanding. This lethal danger, projected not only against the man himself but also against his family, is perpetrated by the Turk and his disciples, a shadowy gang of murderous thugs who ruthlessly pursue our hero from one country to the next.

One complicating factor is that our protagonist realizes the spiritual implications and consequences of the deadly conflict into which he was recruited. As a result, his faith and character are challenged to the utmost as he confronts a relentless string of obstacles to fulfilling his call.

End-Times fiction, you're in for an international adventure!

More Fantastic End-Times Fiction

I can remember when my mom purchased the first 7 Left Behind books all at once, and I read through them in just a couple of weeks. It was miserable waiting 6+ months at a time for the next book to come out, for the remainder of that end-times fiction series!

Here are a few of my other favorite End-times Fiction:

End Times Fiction, or Non-fiction?

What is your favorite end-times novel? Or do you prefer nonfiction?

Until Next Time, Love God, Love Books, Shine The Light!!

2 Comments on “End-Times Fiction: Be Prepared for the Ride of Your Life!”

  1. It sounds like an interesting book. Although personally, like I found in the only Left Behind book I read, the author tends to lead the reader astray from the truth, according to God’s Word. I typically stay away from books about prophesy and go straight to the source, my Bible. But I loved your interview with the author.

    1. Definitely, when I want to study, I go straight to my Bible, and a few trusted sources.

      I find end-times fiction and biblical fiction both are useful as stories that imagine what might be (or might have been) and are fun experiences. Not where I get theology from. The good ones point readers back to the scriptures, and make me want to learn more.

I would love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.